june, 2018

27jun11:00 amFoyle-Štšura DuoSt Magnus International Festival

Event Details

The three sonatas in this programme draw music from three corners of Europe in time of war with Janáček’s work coming from the start of the 1914-18 period – “I could just about hear sound of the steel clashing in my troubled head,” he said. Both Debussy’s, his last work, and Respighi’s Sonatas are intense and serious works perhaps reflective of the world in conflict.

Bringing us right up to date is Kenneth Hesketh’s specially commissioned new work.

Scots violinist Michael Foyle and Estonian Pianist Maksim Štšura have a burgeoning reputation as a duo performing throughout Europe.


Janáček Violin Sonata
Kenneth Hesketh Inscrizione (derivata) (A Lie to the Dying) *WORLD PREMIERE*
Debussy Sonata for Violin and Piano in G minor
Respighi Sonata for Violin and Piano in B minor


(Wednesday) 11:00 am


Stromness Town Hall

Stromness, Orkney, Scotland

Comments are closed.